The best books I read in 2016

I’m going to do a slightly different end-of-year books roundup this year, because I’ve (mostly) been keeping track each month, so just listing all the books I’ve read would be… pretty repetitive.  Anyway, you can find all of them on goodreads, and mini reviews of most of them under “books“.  So, instead, here are the best books I read this year…

download

The Lonely City, Olivia Laing
If you haven’t read this yet, go. I’ll wait here till you have, and then we can cry about David Wojnarowicz together.  I sobbed my way to Edinburgh on an easyjet flight to this, and it was totally worth it.  This was, by far, the best and most important book I read this year. So, so good.

The Dead Ladies Project, Jessa Crispin
More non-fiction, I read this for the #WLClub, and loved it.  I loved seeing glimpses into other people’s lives, through the lens of Crispin’s own travels, and how those other people affected her.

Fates and Furies, Lauren Groff
This was Obama’s book of the year last year,and he’s got good taste in books. People are always their own people, with their own inner lives and secrets, regardless of how well you know and/or love them, and this novel shows that beautifully.

Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, Haruki Murakami
If a boy breaks up with you and then immediately gives you book presents, and the present is Murakami, keep them around because they have good taste in books and you can inherit boxes and boxes of good books from them when they move to America.

All The Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr
More crying. Totally worth it. I read this in Crete, where I ate my body weight in fava and spent four days in the sun reading a huge stack of books.  This was stunningly written, and I’ve recommended it to everyone.

Honourable mentions:
Hold Your Own, Kate Tempest; We Need New Names, NoViolet Bulawayo; The Girl With All The Gifts, MR Carey; Deer Michigan, Jack C. Buck; What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours, Helen Oyeyemi, How to be Human, Paula Cocozza (this isn’t out until 2017, so I debated including it here, but it’s good, so look out for it!)

 

 

One thought on “The best books I read in 2016

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

