February Books

FebBooks

Marina Keegan, The Opposite of Loneliness – I put off reading this for ages because I wasn’t sure if it would live up to the hype.  I read Marina’s essay,  Why We Care About Whales, a while ago and liked it, and I finally decided to just brave the hype.  I’m glad I did, because this collection is stunning.

Lena Andersson, Wilful Disregard* (translated by Sarah Death) – Oh my god, where to even start with this?  This book is beautifully translated, and is quiet and wonderful.  It’s about a woman who steps into a hugely unequal relationship, which turns to obsessive love and heartbreak.  Perfect perfect perfect. Read it.

Janet Malcolm, The Silent Woman#wlclub is taking over my entire Twitter/inbox/life. YASSS. We’re getting tote bags and everything.  This was February’s book, and I have so many thoughts on it that I can’t even begin to put them here.  Get ready to see biographies of womens’ lives, written by women, as a pretty regular feature.  And join the Womens Lives Book Club.  Rachel Syme is a genius.

Martin Amis, Money – Sometimes cute boys buy you books you should’ve read but haven’t. This one’s a “currently reading,” so I’ll put a note in next months blogpost when it’s done!

Christopher Isherwood, Goodbye to Berlin – Sometimes those cute boys buy you books for Valentine’s Day too, and sometimes you almost admit to liking all that Valentine’s nonsense.  This is awesome, and makes me think of something like Pere Goriot, or The Elegance of the Hedgehog, though I’m not sure why.  Maybe just the detail of people’s lives? I don’t know. Anyway, I liked it a lot, and it seemed appropriate to take to Germany with me.

Emma Cline, Girls* – SO EXCITED FOR THIS. I haven’t started it yet, but it comes out in June and I’ve already read SO MUCH good stuff about it. Meep!

I really have to not buy any books for a while, because my to read pile is about 100 books high.  (That’s maybe a slight exaggeration, but not far off…)

As ever, all my books and book challenge things are on goodreads!

2 thoughts on “February Books

  1. dominique mitchell says:

    Looks like a really good list here! I haven’t heard of a few of those so im going to stick them in my too read pile. I already have The Opposite of Loneliness but haven’t picked it up yet! I know I must. I really like the look of Girls!

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

