Weekend Reading

This week has gone so quickly! I’ve had lots of exciting stuff happen this week, and it’s been a good one.  So! Links links links…

Sci-fi is a big tent // Podcasts to get you to work (also, Jamie tells me this is a good one, but I haven’t got round to giving it a go yet…) // Looking “Professional” // Helen Oyeyemi’s short fiction, Spare Room Ethics, is *obviously* good // Marketing and book titles // In praise of AbFab and female friendship // Why Do We Teach Girls That It’s Cute To Be Scared?

We must chuck the insidious language of fear (Be careful! That’s too scary!) and instead use the same terms we offer boys, of bravery and resilience. We need to embolden girls to master skills that at first appear difficult, even dangerous. And it’s not cute when a 10-year-old girl screeches, “I’m too scared.”
When I worked as a firefighter, I was often scared. Of course I was. So were the men. But fear wasn’t a reason to quit. I put my fear where it belonged, behind my feelings of focus, confidence and courage. Then I headed, with my crew, into the burning building.
– Caroline Paul

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

