Buy Books For Syria with Waterstones

Earlier this week, Waterstones asked me if I would like to champion a book for their Buy Books For Syria campaign, to which I obviously said yes. The campaign was officially launched yesterday, and there are a huge range of books on offer which have been donated from all different publishers. The fact that these books have been donated means that 100% of the retail price will be donated to Oxfam’s Syria crisis appeal.

BlackSwanGreenCard

Of the books on the list, and after some serious thought (it’s an important decision!), I chose David Mitchell’s Black Swan Green, because I’m on a little bit of a David Mitchell binge right now, and this one was next up on my list because I want to go back to Hugo. Ha. If you click on this link here, it’ll take you to the donated edition of the book, and you can read it too, knowing you’re doing something even more awesome than regular reading 😉

You can buy all of the books featured in the campaign in any Waterstones store, or on their website, with authors including Philip Pullman, Hilary Mantel, David Walliams, Neil Gaiman, Marian Keyes, Victoria Hislop, Ali Smith, Salman Rushdie, Caitlin Moran, Julia Donaldson and Jacqueline Wilson. There are over 60 books to choose from, and every penny goes toward helping refugees.  The aim is to raise £1m, and I don’t for a second doubt that that’s achievable. You can follow the campaign on twitter too, at #BuyBooksForSyria.

If you buy Black Swan Green, I’d love to hear what you think of it! (Maybe lets have a little twitter readalong! Ha.) Tweet me and we can discuss Hugo’s (brief) appearance, and the weird and wonderful events of small English villages.

*Disclaimer: Waterstones invited me to champion a book for the campaign, but I’m not being paid for this – or any other related – post, and all words and opinions are my own.

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

