{reading} A TBR update

I’ve actually made a pretty decent dent in my TBR in the last fortnight, so maybe banning myself from buying any more books is a good idea in my neverending quest to actually read some. Ha. This is what I’ve crossed off the list so far…

tbrupdate

The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neil Gaiman
This is 99p in the Kindle sale at the moment. Just go and buy it. It’s beautiful; fairytale-ish and immersive, and perfect. So perfect, in fact, that Hannah and I are now on a two-woman mission to read everything Neil Gaiman’s ever written. (We’re starting with American Gods. Good choice?)

Eleanor & Park, Rainbow Rowell
This is really not my normal sort of book at all. YA romance is a genre that’s not very high on my list of must reads. But this was cute, and really not cringey, and Rowell’s characters were really well drawn. Eleanor and Park are both characters that I cared about, and having the story structured so that it jumped between both their points of view was a great decision on Rowell’s part. I sat in the garden all day on Saturday and read this in the sunshine. I liked it more than I thought I would.

The Hourglass Factory, Lucy Ribchester
I have to admit, I gave up on this one after 250 pages. I just… stopped caring? I felt like the story was taking so long to pick up any sort of momentum that I just wasn’t bothered where Ebony had disappeared to. Also, I’m now so painfully aware that if a woman a) works at a newspaper and b) has short hair, people are going to constantly query her “sapphic tendencies”. Constantly. Which I also don’t care about. I’m a bit disappointed about this one, because I’ve heard really good things about it, and I had high hopes.

The Kindness of Enemies, Leila Aboulela
On a different tack to the others, I was sent The Kindness of Enemies* to review, and I really enjoyed it. It’s a really well-told story about identity, sweeping across Scotland, Sudan, and Russia, but you don’t ever feel lost. The two narrated strands are tied together, and the writing is beautiful. It isn’t published until next week (the 13th), but you can win a copy on goodreads before then.

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

