Snog Me : Lippy Girl Vegocentric Lipstick from Botanical Brands

Last week, Botanical Brands got in touch to ask if I’d like to review a Vegocentric vegan lipstick* from Lippy Girl, a new brand on their site.

Botanical Brands are an organic and natural beauty store, and represent brands that reflect this. None of the products they sell are tested on animals, and avoid synthetic and chemical ingredients. Founded by ex-model and senior advanced chemistry teacher, Darcey Dieh, Lippy Girl are a Canadian vegan makeup brand, and I’ll admit I was intrigued.

Lippy Girl Vegocentric Lipsticks help create the perfect pucker but naturally. Using organic and wild-crafted natural oils and waxes, and only natural mineral pigments, Lippy Girl Lipsticks are eco-friendly, natural, organic, vegetarian, vegan and animal friendly. They’re made with certified organic Castor Seed Oil, Jojoba Seed Oil, Carnauba Wax and Shea Butter and are also lead-free, bee-free, gluten-free and chemical-free!

There are twelve colours to choose from, some shimmery and some matt, and all of them are 5g tubes (more than MAC!). I was really tempted by Son of a Brick, but I can’t have any more orange lipsticks. Ha. I chose Snog Me, which looked a more of a pinky-red.

lgvl1
lgvl2

The packaging is really cute, and it’s a nice metal case, rather than a plastic one, so it does *click*. These things are important! I would say though, and I don’t know if its just the formula of the colour I chose, but the lipstick itself it super soft. It got a little bit wiggly when I applied it, and I think in future, I’ll either wind it up the tiniest amount, or use a brush.

The colour is lovely. It’s not at all as dark as it looks, and it’s quite sheer, so for daytime, it’s pretty much the same colour as my lips, and then it builds up to a warm pinky-red. It’s really creamy, and lasts a really, really, long time. I have no idea what this was based on, but I really wasn’t expecting to be as impressed as I was. I stopped buying MAC lipsticks a long time ago because of how much they test on animals (sob), but vegan lipstick is not something I had really ever thought about before.

The Lippy Girl Vegocentric vegan lipsticks are £12.50 each at Botanical Brands in the UK.

Disclaimer** I was sent a lipstick to review by Botanical Brands, but all writing and opinions are always my own!

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

