TBR…

My TBR list is, once again, getting out of hand.  I need to stop going into charity shops at lunchtime where all the books are 20p, two or three times a week. And I need to stop bulk buying ALL the books every time Verso has a sale. And I need to stop buying Kindle books that I promptly forget about until I turn my Kindle on and get approximately 158563 “new” titles pop up. Oops. On that note, and in an effort to shame myself into an actual Book Buying Ban, here are the top ten books on my TBR. Yes, I’m aware that there are far more than ten, but this post would be a mile long and you would be asleep if I listed them all, so ten it is.

tbr

1. The Hourglass Factory, Lucy Ribchester – I’m putting this one first because I’ve started it already. It’s quite good so far, easy to read, and the characters are interesting. This is my train book at the moment, and I keep getting mid-chapter as the my stop comes up. Grr.

2. God Help the Child, Toni Morrison – I won this in a twitter contest thing from Vintage Books last week, and I’m so excited to start it.

3. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Ransom Riggs – I’ve had this on my radar forever. A brand new copy for 20 pence? DONE.

4. The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neil Gaiman – I bought this in the Kindle sale, and I’ve heard lots of good things.

5. The Kindness of Enemies, Leila Aboulela – I met Leila at a conference last year, and she’s lovely. This isn’t released until August, but I was asked if I’d like to review it,so expect that soon!

6. American Innovations, Rivka Galchen – Another Kindle sale purchase. Short stories, mostly feminist re-imaginings, I’m looking forward to it.

7. Where’d You Go, Bernadette?, Maria Semple – I know, I’m super late to the party on this one.

8. Eleanor & Park, Rainbow Rowell – … and this one.

9. A Philosophy of Walking, Frédéric Gros – I bought this in my Verso sale binge. I love me a good angry think-walk. Just like Rimbaud. Right?

10. Bleeding Edge, Thomas Pynchon – I bought this, and then came home and found a hardback edition in one of Dave’s book boxes. So now I have two. So I should probably read one.

Just a few to be getting on with then. Meep.

2 thoughts on “TBR…

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

