Summer Styling

Almost five years of living as a student has meant that my wardrobe is in dire need of an update. I’m digging dresses out of my cupboard that were probably past their best a few years ago. As ever, pinterest is the best, and armed with an idea of what I want – i.e. not the wardrobe of a 20 year old with too fond a penchant for gypsy skirts – and some new-job pennies, I’m going to head to the shops for some bits to spruce up my summer wardrobe.

I always, always wear skinny jeans. Like, every day. I’m not very (at all) curvy, and at 28, I should probably stop hoping that puberty will hit soon and I will become a Jessica Rabbit hourglass. Ha. Basically, I need to just accept the fact that I am mostly a skinny jeans and t-shirt kind of girl, and stop trying to fight it. With that in mind then, I’m going to buy a stack of jersey slub tshirts in nice sludgy colours (sludge is totally a thing, ok?), and then some bits to go with. My denim shirt is starting to become like a uniform, so maybe I ought to branch out a bit. For my birthday, I got a lovely silver metallic pencil skirt, which weirdly goes with everything, and I’m excited for it to be warm enough to wear without tights. Ha.

Let’s have a look at some pins…

This jacket is so perfect. Yes yes yes.

I’m a big fan of a good blazer, but cheap blazers (I’m looking at you, Primark) never look good, because they don’t sit right across the shoulders, so I might treat myself to a nice one.

This whole outfit is so spot on. Thumbs up emojis for dayssssssss.  Can I have this and just wear it until it falls apart?

skirt

I kind of really want a leather skirt. Is this a thing real-life people can pull off? I feel like it might be one of those things that looks great on instagram, and less great irl. Like the skort I never wore. Ha.

Right, I’m going to stop now, because I’m noticing that these pictures all look very similar. I need Sarah to come shopping with me, because a) she is the queen of Dressing For Your Shape, and b) she’s my sister, and therefore will tell me if I try things on that I will never wear/look ridiculous. 😉

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

