Reading… The Heart is a Lonely Hunter

lh

I unashamedly stole this book from Dave, and I’m so glad I did. Carson McCullers’ debut novel, written when she was just 23, is heartbreakingly beautiful.

The Heart is a Lonely Hunter is set in a small Southern town, and focuses around five main characters; John Singer, a mysterious deaf-mute who no longer speaks with his hands; Mick Kelly (loosely based on McCullers herself), a young girl with too much responsibility; Jake Blount, a drunk struggling to act in a way he feels is meaningful; Biff Brannon, owner of the bar/restaurant; and Doctor Copeland, estranged from his family by his passionate ambition.

Her face felt like it was scattered in pieces and she could not keep it straight. The feeling was a whole lot worse than being hungry for any dinner, yet it was like that. I want–I want–I want–was all that she could think about–but just what this real want was she did not know.

I loved reading this. It’s stunningly written, and is just… perfect. I can’t aptly describe how heartbreaking the end is without huge spoilers, so I won’t. I’ve read McCullers’ The Ballad of the Sad Café before, but this reminded me a little bit of reading Marilynne Robinson’s Gilead, in that its very character-centric, rather than plot-driven. I’m actually struggling to accurately express just how good it is; you should just go buy a copy. Amazon/Kindle, The Book Depository, or Waterstones.

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

