Another September Update

sept
At the beginning of last September, I was kind of fed up. Re-reading that post, and remembering how I felt, makes me a bit sad. I’d not long broken up with my fiancé and moved back into my parents’ house for the summer, and I was about to move to Scotland, somewhere I knew nobody, had no job, and nowhere to live, and although I was excited about it, I was mostly pretty terrified. Unbelievably, it’s somehow a year later already, and I honestly think that moving to Edinburgh might have been the best decision I’ve ever made. I said in this post that 2014 owed it to me to be epic, and so far, so good.

This year has been incredible, and I really should have done this post at the beginning of the month, rather than leaving it until the end, but, you know – life. Looking at the last twelve months is actually pretty overwhelming, but I managed – pretty successfully, I think – to move to a new city, house hunt, job hunt, start an MSc, make tons of new friends (hi guyzzzz!), have more blogging adventures than ever, get myself and my heart mostly mended, write 15,000 words on something I think I want to write about forever, and go to a ridiculously exciting conference, to talk to people about poetry. I’ve watched my best friends get married (Hi Shippey Mara’s! Hi Greany’s!), I’ve read too many books, definitely drank too much on too many occasions, had house parties and dinner parties and flat dinners, been to the poshest dinner of my life, been a tour guide when people have come up to see me. I’ve Megabussed backwards and forwards too many times, met some coos, and chopped all my hair off. I’ve become a sort-of almost vegetarian, had an awesome weekend in Glasgow, and found an amazing flat to move into next month with my amazing new flatmate. I’ve voted Yes, and I’ve told someone that I love them far later than I should have. It’s been a pretty good year, I think.

It’s hard to shake that Septembery feeling of planning, and organising things, and getting stuff done, when you’re twenty-seven (shh) and only just (maybe) finished with school, so I don’t plan to stop. Next up is more job hunting, holiday planning, maybe possibly some PhD hunting (sorry, parents, I promise one day I will get a job), writing more conference abstracts, and moving house! Exciting stuff. If you had told me last September that in a years time, I would be staying in Edinburgh, and that I would be happier than I’d been for a really really long time, I don’t know that I’d have believed you. 2013 me, you couldn’t have been more wrong.

Rounding off my sappy life update, here’s some Edward Abbey. Enjoy!

Benedicto: May your trails be crooked, winding, lonesome, dangerous, leading to the most amazing view. May your mountains rise into and above the clouds. May your rivers flow without end, meandering through pastoral valleys tinkling with bells, past temples and castles and poets towers into a dark primeval forest where tigers belch and monkeys howl, through miasmal and mysterious swamps and down into a desert of red rock, blue mesas, domes and pinnacles and grottos of endless stone, and down again into a deep vast ancient unknown chasm where bars of sunlight blaze on profiled cliffs, where deer walk across the white sand beaches, where storms come and go as lightning clangs upon the high crags, where something strange and more beautiful and more full of wonder than your deepest dreams waits for you — beyond that next turning of the canyon walls.

xx

3 thoughts on “Another September Update

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

