Baileys Women’s Prize

baileys
(image from @BaileysPrize)

The shortlist of six books has been announced this week, and the winner will be announced on the 4th June. I reckon that gives me enough time to read at least a few of the books on the Baileys Women’s Prize shortlist! I actually bought The Goldfinch when it was in a 99p Kindle sale earlier this year, and I just started reading it this week as essay procrastination distraction. I’m only 100 pages in, but I’m loving it so far. I’ve not read anything else by Donna Tartt, but there’s a hardback charity-shop-haul score of The Little Friend sat on my bookshelf.  I’m also really hoping to read Americanah soon; the paperback is only £3.85 at the moment, and £2.99 for Kindle, so that’s definitely on my list.
Typical that I’ve chosen the two biggest books on the list to start with!

The full shortlist is:
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – Americanah (amazon)
Hannah Kent – Burial Rites (amazon)
Jhumpa Lahiri – The Lowland (amazon)
Audrey Magee – The Undertaking (amazon)
Eimear McBride – A Girl Is A Half-Formed Thing (amazon)
Donna Tartt – The Goldfinch (amazon)

More details of the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction can be found on their website.

Have you read any of these yet, or are you planning to?

I’m not affilated with the prize, or with amazon, I just want to read these, and amazon links seemed the easiest way to put them here. By all means, if you have a real life, pysical, independent bookshop – BUY THEM THERE. Bookshops are the best.

7 thoughts on “Baileys Women’s Prize

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

