Apple and Cinnamon Baked Oatmeal

Breakfast food is the best.  Pretty much, if its smothered in maple syrup and I can add hash browns, I’m in.  I love breakfast.  Recently, however, I’ve been skipping breakfast in favour of an extra half hour in bed and a couple of Jaffa Cakes.  Don’t look at me like that, it’s cold,and my bed is warm.  I’ve decided that enough is enough, and I set out on a mission to find something awesome for breakfast which will mean my stomach isn’t rumbling through my classes when I start back at uni this week, and won’t shock my sugar-addled system too much by being real food.

oatmeal

Apple and Cinnamon Baked Oatmeal

(This recipe is adapted from this one at The Slender Student. Hers has got liquid egg whites and protein powder and extra goodness in it, and she makes a Chocolate Espresso version too. If you don’t read her blog already, you should.)

You’ll need:
 1/2 cup of rolled oats (I used a mug and just made sure that I used the same one for everything to measure it all)
 1/2 cup milk
 1 egg, whisked
 1/2 banana, mashed
 1 small apple (half diced, half sliced)
 1/4 tsp baking powder
 1/2 tsp cinnamon
 a 5″x7″ baking dish, coated with non-stick spray (mine’s a 1Cal one, but I don’t think it actually makes any difference, just go for a buttery one like the Flora ones, rather than an olive oil one)
Nutella/maple syrup/yoghurt for toppings

And here’s what you do:
 Put the oven on to 190.
 Mix everything together except the sliced apple bits.
 Pour into the baking dish.  Put those sliced apple bits on top in a nice pattern, and pop the dish in the oven.
 Shower/do your make up/watch an episode of New Girl for 20 minutes-ish (when it starts to look slightly brown on top, it’s done.)
 Put Nutella/maple syrup/yoghurt on top. Eat.
 Have a fabulous day.

One thought on “Apple and Cinnamon Baked Oatmeal

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

