Brooke’s Reading List

brl(image from weheartit)

For her impending honeymoon, Brooke has been collating a list of books I’ve recommended to her to take with her (I know, I don’t know when she’s planning on reading them either…), and so to keep track, and so she can find them nice and easily, I thought it would be nice to post them here, with some little shopping links. (I’m linking to amazon because it’s easiest, and because I think she’s taking her Kindle. It’s not because I have any affiliation with them!)

The Princess Bride, by William Goldman
Yes, it’s the book of the cult 80’s movie, and it is amazing. The funniest book I have read for a long, long time.

When God was a Rabbit, by Sarah Winman
I only read this a couple of weeks ago, after I finally picked it up. It was exactly what I needed. I reviewed it a bit on Goodreads. Just perfect.

Mr Fox, by Helen Oyeyemi
I’m not sure if this is Brooke’s cup of tea, really, but I thought it was really cleverly written, and I really enjoyed it.

Petite Mort, by Beatrice Hitchman
Now this is definitely Brooke’s cup of tea. Set around the worlds of 1900s Paris and silent cinema, I reviewed it here.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows
This is such a cute story, I really enjoyed it (even if I did work it out way before the protagonist did πŸ˜‰ )

Jamrach’s Menagerie, by Carol Birch
This review is spot on: Put Moby Dick, Treasure Island and The Rime of the Ancient Mariner into a pot, add a pinch of Dickens, and you will get the flavour of Carol Birch’s hugely entertaining novel.

Life of Pi, by Yann Martel
Because it’s fantastic. (I need to watch the film again soon!)

Would you add anything else to a Honeymoon Reading List?

4 thoughts on “Brooke’s Reading List

  1. emma says:

    I love trashy novels for holidays, so would recommend anything by Jilly Cooper. Not quite as intellectual as the reads you’ve listed, but good for getting lost in!

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

