In The Night

Just before I went off on holiday last week, Charlotte Carpenter sent me her EP, In The Night, to review. Charlotte released her EP independently in March, and since it’s release, she’s been playing supporting slots all over the country, and has been featured on BBC Radio Nottingham’s The Beat. In The Night is an EP that’s right up my street; I do love a good folkish singer/songwriter.  My friend Rachel laughs at me for how predictable I am in my choice of music, but hey, I like what I like, right?

In The Night is four tracks of honest, clever lyrics, and is still catchy. Here’s the title track, the finalé of the EP.

In The Night has been on repeat on my iPod for the last week. Charlotte’s voice is beautiful, accompanied by gorgeous guitar melodies. Turn To Dust is my favourite of the four songs, but In The Night works perfectly as a set of songs. In The Night is, unusually, the final track, and it’s also the darkest. The first song, Blame It On Anything is quieter, with Charlotte’s voice seeming a little bit more fragile. What Became of Us is the first inkling of what’s to come from the final song.

Next month, she’s embarking on her first full band tour, having already supported the likes of Frank Hamilton, and Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly.
You can catch her at the following venues:

charlotte tour poster

The Limited Edition In The Night EP is available here, and costs just £5. You can also buy a digital download for £3. If you like Lucy Rose, Laura Marling or Ellie Goulding, definitely have yourself a little listen to Charlotte Carpenter. You can thank me later 😉

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

