Essex Blogger Interviews : This Something Life

Nicki, from This Something Life is the next of our Essex Bloggers!

Nicki Kinickie

Tell us about yourself!

My name is Nicki and I am 28 years old (eek!), 29 this year! I guess I am a bit older than most of your average bloggers out there (Well from what I have seen so far) I live in a little village near Billericay and Basildon which I love because it is so quiet! (Which shows I MUST be getting old!) I live with my hubby and our two house rabbits.

What is “This Something Life”?

My blog is most definitely a lifestyle one, I do talk about clothes and make up from time to time (well, mainly clothes and shoes) but don’t think I am knowledgeable enough to claim to be a fashion or beauty blog exclusively plus I like having the freedom to talk about whatever I want whether it is current affairs or what I did at the weekend. The name ‘This Something Life’ came along purely because I couldn’t think of one word to sum up life, or my life anyway. After lots of thinking about what that ‘Something’ could be I realised I actually liked the sound of ‘This Something Life’ and so called it that.

Where can we find you?

Oh blimey – here we go!
I am on bloglovin’ and bloggers.com as well as having a Facebook page (all can be found by searching Nicki Kinickie) I am also on Twitter – @NickiKinickie and Instagram – @NickiKinickie
I am on Pinterest (again search Nicki Kinickie) but am not quite sure what it is all about yet! (again, OLD)

Why do you blog, and what are your favourite (and least favourite) parts of blogging?

I have always been into performing, singing, writing and anything like that (just not dancing – eight left feet let alone two!) but confidence sadly always held me back when I was a lot younger. I decided a while ago I wanted to writer and did a script writing course and creative writing course but it was my mum who suggested starting up a blog. She said she had heard bloggers and their influence are being taken a lot more seriously now in the writing world and it would be a great way to stretch my writing skills so I gave it a go and the rest is history! That was just over a year ago now and it has gone from strength to strength since.

My least favourite thing about blogging is writers block! I can’t stand it when I just can’t think of anything I want to talk about or even worse, I know my subject but can’t write about it in the style I want to or convey it the way I want to. It can also be very time-consuming and hard work which I don’t mind as I enjoy it but when you have a house to run and a job as well as those little everyday tasks like cooking and housework you can feel there just aren’t enough hours in the day!

I wouldn’t change it though!

Other than blogging, how do you like to spend your time?

I like to do a lot of creative things like do up furniture, sketch and paint. I have just started making bespoke canvases with funny or meaningful quotes on which I am enjoying doing. I also try and run whenever I can although the cold weather puts me off at the moment! I also love, love, LOVE cooking and enjoy trying new recipes or having friends over for dinner.

Is there any advice you’d give to new bloggers?

Just be yourself. Don’t try and be someone else because it will never work. Work hard and promote your blog as much as you can but don’t forget blogging etiquette (such as BLATANTLY not reading a post but commenting at the end to leave your blog link, no-body likes that!) Believe in yourself and push through the times when you think you want to give it all up or that it is going nowhere – with hard work and determination you will get there if it is really what you want.

What are three blogs (Essex or otherwise!) that you love?

I do religiously read the Essex Bloggers blog’s as often as I can, I hate it when I don’t find the time to read people’s latest posts because I feel such a bad blogger and feel so out of the loop! I read blogs much more than magazines these days!
Other than my Essex Ladies, I love Bambella blog – She takes such beautiful pictures! I also love Tilly’s style blog – She has such a great eye for stuff and makes me wish I was about ten years younger to wear some of them! Another fave is Chelsea Girl and Miss Charl – I know there are a lot more but right now I can’t think of any more!

Thanks Nicki! You can read all of the Essex Blogger interviews by clicking here!
If you are an Essex Blogger and would like to take part in the series, let me know, either by email or on twitter!

Follow @essexbloggers on Twitter!

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

