Essex Blogger Interviews : Is That You Darling?

Janey from Is That You Darling? is next up in the Essex Blogger Interviews!

Janey - Is That You Darling?

Tell us about yourself!

I’m Janey, and I live in a tiny little village in Essex! I have lived here pretty much all my life, apart from a stint at university in Colchester, and four months in the States. I turned the big 3-0 last year, and I have to say, it’s nothing to be scared of!

What is “Is That You Darling”?

My blog is called Is That You Darling, and although for a long time I didn’t really know how to categorise it, I now self-define as a lifestyle blogger. It’s nice to have found a home in the world of blogging! I have actually been blogging for close to ten years, in one way or another, though Is That You Darling was officially born in May of last year, when I changed the name from Lady Writer. The name was the result of months of scribbling down ideas before I finally found the one I loved. It’s a quote from one of my favourite films, Dial M for Murder, a Hitchcock film with Grace Kelly.

Where can we find you?

Twitter : Facebook : Instagram : Pinterest

Why do you blog, and what are your favourite (and least favourite) parts of blogging?

The main reason that I blog is that I love to write, and blogging means that I can do this to my heart’s content! I have always written, for as long as I can remember, so having a place all of my own feels very nice! One of my favourite parts of blogging is getting to know other bloggers. Between #EssexBlogger and #lbloggers, I’ve found some real kindred spirits, and it’s always great to chat to them on Twitter! Another great part is the feeling of having written something you are really proud of, and then having people comment on it. Comments are always so lovely, they stop me from feeling like I am shouting into an empty room!

Other than blogging, how do you like to spend your time?

I read an awful lot. It’s close to an obsession; if I’m not reading, I’m spending an awful lot of time making lists of books that I want to read! Other than that, I’m bit of a television junkie, I watch a lot of American and British television, and I’m not ashamed to admit it! I also have a massive family, so I spend a lot of time with them, and a small but fabulous group of friends, so I like to do lots of fun and ridiculous activities with them.  

Is there any advice you’d give to new bloggers?

Probably the best advice I can give people is to realise that blogging is what you want it to be. If you want to be a big, popular blogger, you have to be prepared to put the work in. No blog has ever become successful (or profitable) through wishing and hoping; the bloggers put a lot of work into them, and that’s reflected in their popularity. I like to think though, that most people get into this blogging lark, because they feel that they have something they want to say, whether that’s about makeup, fashion, books or politics! So try and stay true to that, and don’t let anyone make you do or say anything you don’t want to!

What are three blogs (Essex or otherwise!) that you love?

I’m sure I’m not alone in loving Elsie and Emma at A Beautiful Mess – they are very inspirational and I’m a bit jealous of their lives! Sarah at essbeevee is another firm favourite, and another Sarah, at Sweet and Savory Life, is a blogger I look up to a lot!

Thanks Janey! You can read all of the Essex Blogger interviews by clicking here!
If you are an Essex Blogger and would like to take part in the series, let me know, either by email or on twitter!

Follow @essexbloggers on Twitter!

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

