Essex Blogger Interviews : Lillies and Love

Next up is Penny from Lillies and Love! šŸ™‚

Lillies and Love

Tell us about yourself!

I’m Penny, I’m 27 and I live in Essex. I work full-time for the Council but writing is my passion and LilliesandLove is where my heart really lies.

What is “Lillies and Love”?

I’ve blogged intermittently for a few years, starting in 2010 following a relationship break-up as I wanted to document my journey as I looked for “Mr Right” however, it was only in March 2012 that I decided to start taking my blogging more seriously and that’s when LilliesandLove was born. If I had to describe it, I’d call it a Lifestyle blog, although it also discusses beauty and fashion and they’re interests of mine. My blog is basically just an extension of myself. I chose the name because when I was younger I used to dream of finding love and always pictured a nice home with a vase of Arum Lillies in the corner – Lillies and Love were how I viewed my future. (Cheesy I know, but unfortunately true lol)

Where can we find you?

@lilliesandlove : facebook.com/LilliesandLove.co.uk : youtube.com/Lilliesandlove : Instagram

Why do you blog and what are your favourite (and least favourite) parts of blogging?

This is quite hard to answer! I blog because I love writing so much – even as a child I was always surrounded by paper and pens. My favourite part of my blog is perhaps being able to lose myself, to drift off as I start typing and immerse myself in it. I also love the opportunities that blogging has given me and all the lovely people I’ve met through it – I wouldn’t have met some of my friends if it hadn’t been for blogging. I can’t really think of a least favourite part of it… perhaps that I can’t do it all day every day? šŸ˜‰

Other than blogging, how do you like to spend your time?

My boyfriend and I have very busy lives, so I like being able to spend some of my spare time with him, just relaxing if we can – although that seems rarely to happen, there’s always something to be doing! I also like to see friends, read, try new foods and wine, and visit new places.

Is there any advice you’d give to new bloggers?

Don’t try be something you’re not and don’t try replicating anyone else. It’s good to read other blogs and see what other people do, but stay true to yourself and don’t let anybody ever tell you what you should be doing. Your blog is yours alone; write it with your own voice and in the way you want to.

What are three blogs (Essex or otherwise!) that you love?

I love the other Essex Blogger girls (definitely check them all out) but I also love:
http://dawniepopsies.blogspot.com
http://flyingpinkelephants.blogspot.co.uk
http://theagoraphobicfashionista.blogspot.com

Thanks Penny!
You can read all of the Essex Blogger interviews by clicking here!
If you are an Essex Blogger and would like to take part in the series, let me know, either by email or on twitter!

Follow @essexbloggers on Twitter!

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

