Reading

After what’s been quite a stressful couple of weeks, with essay deadlines and exams, tomorrow is the first day of my Easter break from Uni.  I’m quite surprised at how much I’ve looked forward to it, to be honest, but the break is very much needed!  Not that it will actually be very much of a break, because I have my dissertation to write, but all the same!

(image from here)

Anyway, the purpose of this post was to ask your advice, lovelies.  With a month off, I’m going to be able to read for fun for a little while.  That’s far more exciting than it sounds, so I’d like some recommendations please!  Preferably not any chick-lit, because I hate it, but other than that, I’m pretty open to ideas, so let me know what the best thing you’ve read recently is!  Tonight I’m planning to finish reading The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, but after that, my little Kindle hasn’t got anything new and non-uni related on it!

So, tweet me your suggestions, or drop me a comment!

17 thoughts on “Reading

  1. Sarah-Louise says:

    I love The Hundred Year Old Man…! I also loved All Families Are Psychotic by Douglas Coupland and Espedair Street by Iain Banks this year. 🙂

  2. Janey says:

    My favourite thing in all the world is talking about books. I love it when someone recommends a book to me, that’s the best way to discover a new book I think! I really enjoyed Tigers in Red Weather by Lisa Klaussmann, that I read last year. It’s a quiet kind of book, but very good! If you haven’t already read it, Bossypants by Tina Fey is laugh out loud funny, as is Moranthology by Caitlin Moran. I also recently read Lucky Break, which is by Esther Freud. It’s probably classed as Modern Fiction, I really liked that one too!

    I hope you find something good to read!

  3. Claire 'Word by Word' says:

    I recently read Elizabeth and her German Garden by Elizabeth von Armin which was delightful, and two people have said that since I liked that so much I should also read The Garden of Evening Mists.

    For nonfiction and if you appreciate art and culture, Edmund De Waal’s The Hare with Amber Eyes is a fascinating story I read a few weeks ago.

    Elif Shafak’s Honour is excellent, or her earlier book The Forty Rules of Love. Enjoy your month of reading!

  4. Hannah Ackroyd says:

    I completely know how you feel! I was so ready for my Easter break! But sadly, being a Literature student, still no reading for fun! With three essays to do and 5 books to read for uni I still don’t have time to squeeze in any books of my choice! However, I finished one of my Uni books yesterday which was Never Let Me Go by Ishiguro and I enjoyed it so much it didn’t really feel like I was reading a Uni book! Onto Zoo City next but I don’t know if I will enjoy this one so much.

      • Hannah Ackroyd says:

        Only literature students know how depressing it is not being able to read books of our choice even though we spend three years reading non-stop! It doesn’t help that I work in a bookshop either… Luckily I don’t have a dissertation, just loads of essays! Only one exam though so I don’t have to worry too much about revision yet 🙂 xx

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

