Do Something Amazing

On Friday, I went and gave blood, and it wasn’t scary at all. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for a while, but never got around to, and then I made it one of my resolutions. I thought I’d share my experience of it here, because I had pretty much no idea of what to expect! Don’t worry, I didn’t take any gory photos!

IMG_0943[1]
I’d already made an appointment, which you can do online or over the phone, and when I turned up, I was given a leaflet and a form to fill in, before having a chat with a nurse about where I’d been on holiday in the last 12 months. She had to check my iron levels before they can take any blood, and then I had to go and sit down with a glass of water and a biscuit until they called me.

IMG_0944[1]
Once I was all hooked up (which didn’t hurt at all, honestly) I laid on the bed, reading on my Kindle for about ten minutes, and then I was done! Whilst you’re laying there you have to squeeze and relax your hand constantly, and I got to a good bit in my book, forgot, and set my alarm off. I was more panicked than anyone else was that I was doing it wrong, but once I remembered, it was okay!
After I’d had my giant plaster stuck on, I went to sit down and had some orange squash and more biscuits, and then I went home. I think altogether I was there for an hour, but next time it’ll be less because I won’t have any “first timer” forms to fill in ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_0945[1]
You can give blood 3-4 times a year, and you can register and find details of places in your area at blood.co.uk. Only 4% of people who can donate do, so you really might save a life by giving up an hour of your time. And you’ll feel totally awesome afterwards, I promise ๐Ÿ˜‰

2 thoughts on “Do Something Amazing

  1. Hannah Ackroyd says:

    I’ve always wanted to give blood but I’ve never quite been brave enough to do it. I’m not very good with blood and the thought makes me feel slightly sick :S I’d love to do it though, especially I I know that I’m not a very common blood type.

    • Terri-Jane says:

      I’ve never been brave enough before either, and my iron levels weren’t good enough for a long time, so I used that as an excuse!
      It honestly wasn’t scary at all, and you can barely feel it! The bag is underneath the bed you’re lying on, so you can’t see it, and I took my book to distract me! ๐Ÿ™‚ x

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

