Life of Pi : The Movie


Having read the book last year, I was really looking forward to seeing the movie version of Life of Pi.

Last night, Johno and I finally went to see it, and it absolutely lived up to all of my expectations. I don’t really ever like films of books that I’ve enjoyed (does anyone?), but the film is done so well, and filmed so beautifully that I was really, really impressed. The 3d effects are used brilliantly (as evidenced by the woman sat in fromt of us who, at the first ‘proper’ bit of 3d, leapt six feet in the air and threw her whole bag of sweets – bag included- over us. Hilarious. Johno and I were crying with laughter for about ten minutes), and the whole film is just spectacular. I’ve seen a couple of 3d films already and I feel like sometimes they’re just 3d for the sake of it, like it doesn’t really add anything, but the visual effects here were stunning, and totally added something else to an already amazing story. I feel like I ought to mention the CGI as well, as the animals were so well done that it was almost impossible to tell that they weren’t real.

I won’t give too much away, in case people don’t know much of the story, but it doesn’t really spoil anything to know that Pi is in a shipwreck, and he ends up on a liferaft with just a Bengal tiger named Richard Parker for company.

The vast majority of the film takes place on the Pacific Ocean, with just Pi and Richard Parker as the only characters, and Suraj Sharma carries the film incredibly well. The entire film was utterly brilliant, and I really cannot recommend it more highly. Go and see it. I might even go again.





(images are from google and here)

The book of Life of Pi is only TWENTY PENCE on Kindle at the moment!! You can get it here 🙂

4 thoughts on “Life of Pi : The Movie

  1. Hannah Ackroyd says:

    I loved the film too! I don’t normally like books being adapted into films either but this one was spectacular. I saw it in 2D as I’m not a fan of 3D and it was still amazing.

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

