Start Me Up!

So, as some of you may know from my twitter, I managed to get tickets to the Rolling Stones’ 50th anniversary dates at the o2 for last Thursday night. Needless to say, it was possibly the best night of my life – absolutely, astoundingly awesome.

The Stones opened with Get Off Of My Cloud a cover of the Beatles’ I Wanna Be Your Man, and played everything that we were hoping they would. Florence Welch joined them on stage for Gimme Shelter, which was amazing. It’s my favourite Stones song, and Merry Clayton’s voice on the recording is just stunning, and as much as I love Flo, I have to admit I was a bit worried! Completely needlessly, because Florence totally held her own on the stage and more than did the song justice!!

Eric Clapton was the other special guest of the evening, performing Champagne and Reefer, and after playing new songs One More Shot and Doom and Gloom, Bill Wyman joined them on stage for It’s Only Rock & Roll and Honky Tonk Women. After Bill’s apperance, Mick did the band introductions. Keith got the biggest applause, and he took to the mic to sing Before They Make Me Run and Happy. Mick Taylor came on to play a fantastic version of Midnight Rambler.

They played a few more classics (Start Me Up, Tumbling Dice, and Brown Sugar) before Mick reappeared on stage wearing a gorilla-esque cloak for Sympathy For The Devil (woop wooo!), and then the show was (almost!) over.

In darkness, two choirs filed onto the stage for the first encore song, You Can’t Always Get What You Want. It was totally spine-tingling, and only the second time (after the first o2 show on the Sunday night) that it’s been performed on stage with a choir. They also did Jumpin’ Jack Flash and Satisfaction before the curtain really did come down and the show was over. ( *sad face* )

I’m still ridiculously excited about it, even though it was almost a week ago (boo!), and I even though I understand that the tickets were expensive, I think that it was more than worth it – I’d pay it again in a second to see them again!! We had a fantastic night, and I’m so, so glad that my university’s internet is fast enough that I managed to score two tickets sitting where we were, with only four people in front of us!

Thank you Polly May for being such an enthusiastic little sausage – I’m so glad that we got to go together, and add it to our list of fabulous sistery Stones outings!! GLIMMER TWINS FTW!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

xx

(Photos are my own – you are welcome to use them if you email me first, and link them back to me!!)

One thought on “Start Me Up!

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

