Super Healthy Bolognaise

Hello lovelies!

As some of you may know, I’m doing the Tone Up Challenge from Polly May‘s blog, and to that end, I’ve decided to cut out pasta for a little while. Anyone that knows me in real life knows that I basically function off of pasta, and I eat it maybe…. four(ish?) times a week. I know. Add the fact that I have almost NO clue about what portion sizing is, and you start to see why I’ve been feeling a bit bloated and sluggish. So, no pasta. It’s been eleven days today, and I honestly haven’t struggled at all (and I’ve lost AN INCH off of my stomach. In ten days. From just not eating pasta.).
I thought it would be really hard, considering the sheer amounts of pasta I consume on a weekly basis, but replacement, rather then avoidance, seems to be doing the trick!

So, I thought I’d share my recipe for super healthy, pasta free, bolognaise!!

You’ll need:
1 white cabbage
500g extra lean mince
2 tins chopped tomatoes
1 onion
2 carrots
A few mushrooms
1 red pepper

Chop up the onion, carrots, pepper and mushrooms into smallish chunks (I like chunky bolognaise, you can chop them smaller if you want to!) and thrown them in a frying pan on a medium/high heat with a splash of water. Once the onions start to go translucent, put the mince in and break up any lumps with a wooden spoon. Keep an eye on it whilst the mince browns, and give it a stir occasionally. Once the mince is browned, put the tomatoes in, and give it a stir. Turn it down to a low heat, put a lid on the pan, and leave it to simmer whilst you make your fake spaghetti.

Thinly slice the cabbage from the top, so that it makes ribbons or loops. I used about a third of a cabbage for two people, but it does shrink, so I’d judge it by chopping a bit extra than what you think you need. Pop it in a steamer over a saucepan of boiling water. I have got a bamboo steamer, because they’re amazing, and they only cost a few pounds (mine was only £3.99 from TK Maxx!). Steaming is the best way to cook veggies, as it keeps all the goodness in! Your cabbage will probably need about five minutes to cook – this means its still got a little bit of crunch, so if you want it a bit more pasta-like, leave it for a little bit longer, but I’d say ten minutes absolute tops, or it might go a bit mushy!

Whilst the cabbage is steaming, check on your bolognaise, it should be simmering nicely, so just give it a stir.
Once your time is up, scoop out your cabbage, and put a nice amount of bolognaise on top, just like spaghetti. You can add some parmesan too if you like.

Nom.

xx

3 thoughts on “Super Healthy Bolognaise

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

