Angela Kane Wolf Dress!

Aroooo!

Last week, you may have seen on my twitter that I was working on a ‘Wolf Dress’, and now it’s finished!!

I used the Angela Kane 721 Pinafore Dress pattern, which is a free pattern on her website, with accompanying Youtube tutorial. You just need to sign up for a free 7-day membership, and you can download the pattern and print it out on regular A4 paper. Easy peasy.
The fabric I used was a remnant given to me by my mummy, who is a dressmaker and has got an enormous stash!!

I was testing out my lovely Singer featherweight machine, and once I’d figured out how to get the tension right, bought some oil and cleaned it up, she’s running lovely! I’m actually massively impressed with myself that I’ve made this dress completely on my own, with just the tutorial, and taught myself how to do darts, how to put in a zip, and how to do bias binding edging.

The videos are a really great help, though you might need to find one for how to put in a zip, as it sort of glosses over it (there’s another video which you can watch that shows you how to fit an invisible zip, but if you just want a regular one, you have to find one yourself!), and you can use the same pattern to make an A-line skirt as well.
I think I’m going to make another one of these dresses in a less slippery, dressy fabric, so that it’s a bit more daytime-y, but if I can make this (and it didn’t take me nearly as long as I thought it would!) then anyone can!

xx

6 thoughts on “Angela Kane Wolf Dress!

  1. swwonder says:

    Wow, well done! It looks great! Other than the odd hole and hem, I haven’t done any sewing since my GCSE textiles, you’ve definitely inspired me to make something!

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

