Books! Q&A

Something slightly different, this Q&A is from Queenie And The Dew, and I thought I’d have a go!!

The Rules:
1. Post these rules
2. Post a photo of your favourite book cover
3. Answer the questions below
4. Tag a few people to answer them too
5. Go to their blog/twitter and tell them you’ve tagged them
6. Make sure you tell the person who tagged you that you’ve taken part!

What are you reading right now?
Woman on the Edge of Time by Marge Piercy, and The Gun Seller by Hugh Laurie for Book Club.

Do you have any idea what you’ll read when you’re done with that?
Next up is Spenser’s The Faerie Queene, for my Early Modern exam, and Saraswati Park by Anjali Joseph.

What books have you always wanted to read but haven’t got round to?
Life, Keith Richards autobiograpy – I bought it the day it came out and have never been able to give it the time it deserves!!
Interview with The Vampire,
Pride and Prejudice…

What magazines do you have in your bathroom/lounge right now?
Company and Harpers Bazaar.

What’s the worst book you’ve ever read?
Lolita. Controversial, because everyone seems to love it, but I thought it was horrible. I really can’t understand why so many people adore it.

What book seems really popular but you actually hated?
This is pretty much the answer above 🙂

What’s the one book you always recommend to just about everyone?
The Time Travellers Wife because I love it so much.

What are your 3 favourite poems?
Valentine, by Carol Ann Duffy
He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven, by W.B. Yeats
Shakespeare’s Sonnet 116

Where do you usually get your books?
All over the place! Mainly online if I’m looking for something specific, but otherwise usually charity shops if I’m just after something random.

Where do you usually read your books?
Ususally in bed, but it depends on what reading I have, if its something for uni, I usually read at uni too, and I like reading if I’m on a train/bus 🙂

When you were little, did you have any particular reading habits?
When I was little, I read everything I could get my hands on. My mum used to say that I’d read the cereal box if it was in front of me, and she’s probably right.

What’s the last thing you stayed up half the night reading because it was so good you couldn’t put it down?
The Tiger’s Wife, by Tea Obreht.

Have you ever “faked” reading a book?
More than I should have! Sometimes I don’t have time for all my uni reading so I head for online chapter summaries… *hangs head in shame*

Have you ever bought a book just because you liked the cover?
Yes, I think that a good cover is really important – I like having pretty books.

What was your favourite book when you were a child?
Anything/everything by Roald Dahl, Carbonel, by Barbara Sleigh, and my collection of the Mary Poppins books (SO much better than the film!!), with the drawing on cardboard of Mary Poppins and her umbrella that my Grandad drew as a bookmark when the books were my mums.

What book changed your life?
Super-cheesy answer coming up: I think that if a book is good enough, it will change your perception of something, even if its something small, and that will stay with you. I don’t know if that classes as changing your life, but affecting it, definitely. In that sense, the books that have “changed” my life the most are Revoling Rhymes, by Roald Dahl, One Hundred Years of Solitude, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and The Time Travellers Wife, by Audrey Niffenegger.

What is your favourite passage from a book?
Ugh, there are too many.

“I wanted to explain that I am constantly overestimating and underestimating the human race – that rarely do I even simply estimate it. I wanted to ask her how the same thing could be so ugly and so glorious, and its words and stories so damning and brilliant…I AM HAUNTED BY HUMANS.” The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak

“Clare, I want to tell you, again, I love you. Our love has been the thread through the labyrinth, the net under the high-wire walker, the only real thing in this strange life of mine that I could ever trust. Tonight I feel that my love for you has more density in this world than I do, myself: as though it could linger on after me and surround you, keep you, hold you.” The Time Travellers Wife, by Audrey Niffenegger

What are your top five favourite authors?
This changes all the time, but…
Audrey Niffenegger,
William Faulkner,
Gabriel Garcia Marquez,
Roald Dahl,
F. Scott Fitzgerald

What book has no one heard about but should read?
The Princess Bride. It’s even funnier than the film.

What are your favourite books by a first-time author?
The Tiger’s Wife, by Tea Obreht
Frankenstein by Mary Wollstonecraft

What is your favourite classic book?
Wuthering Heights, by Emily Bronte

5 other notable mentions?
Ceremony, by Leslie Marmon Silko
Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, by Hunter S. Thompson
Mr. Toppit, by Charles Elton
The Elegance of the Hedgehog, by Muriel Barbery
Life of Pi, by Yann Martel

If you fancy doing the Q&A, please let me know! I love nosing into other people’s reading habits! 🙂 xx

10 thoughts on “Books! Q&A

  1. Hannah Ackroyd says:

    This is really interesting! I might have a go at this! I think this may be tomorrow’s blog for me! I need some time to consider my answers! lol. p.s. I am also an English student so I know what it is like having to scout around for chapter summaries…you’re definitely not the only one! The problem is the then feel guilty for not reading them so I read them over summer anyway!

    • Terri-Jane says:

      Oh, definitely leave me a comment if you do so that I can have a read!!
      And I’m sure that the ‘guilt reading’ is something they know about, its not physically possible for anyone to read four full novels a week, surely!!? x

  2. Peter Galen Massey says:

    Watch out for The Faerie Queene. Unless you are a fan of the technical side of poetry, that sucker is deadly. It’s a little better if you read it out loud. Then the music comes through.

  3. Claire 'Word by Word' says:

    Great insights, I think ‘The Time Travellers Wife’ is fast becoming a classic, it seems to be still being today and enjoyed as much. I really loved the poem at the beginning as well and have passed that on to many people, its called ‘Love after Love’ by Derek Walcott and is one of my favourite poems.

    • Terri-Jane says:

      Oh, absolutely. Niffenegger’s writing is so beautiful, it deserves to be! Coincidentally, I just saw Derek Walcotts play, Pantomime, last night. It was amazing, and I’d thoroughly recommend it!

      • Claire 'Word by Word' says:

        Gotta love serendipity, I don’t really know much about Derek Walcott, but now I need to know more, someone with insights like his is sure to be interesting. Doubly intrigued now.

  4. Janey says:

    Oooh, I’m definitely going to do this later today! I love knowing what other people are reading and loving, and I’ve definitely picked up a few names for my “To read” list!

  5. boringlittleme says:

    Time Travellers Wife is amazing! a million times better than the film even though I adore Rachel McAdams. Really great post, am tempted to do it now 🙂 Also a bunch of people I know also hated ‘Lolita’ and I was advised not to bother reading it so atleast you aren’t alone in that!… Your answer to “what book changed your life?” although cheesy did make me smile, thought I was the only person who felt like that :S !

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

