World Book Night

Someone Like YouSomeone Like You by Roald Dahl

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

As some of you may know, Monday was World Book Night. I was lucky enough to be chosen as a giver, and I chose to give away copies of Someone Like You. I chose this book because I love Roald Dahl’s writing, and because I think that his adult writing is hugely under-read, and (therefore) hugely underrated. I grew up with Matilda, The Twits, Esio Trot and Fantastic Mr. Fox firmly on my favourites list, and I think I’ve pretty much read everything that Roald Dahl has written.

As with Dahl’s childrens writing, his writing for adults isn’t afraid to explore the darker aspects of life. Though there are no giants snatching children in the middle of the night, no Vermicious Knids, no parent-eating rhinocerouses; but Someone Like You takes Roald Dahl’s macabre humour further, with stories about gamblers who take fingers as winnings and women who murder their husbands and then go shopping for potatoes.

I am always surprised at the amount of people who don’t know that Dahl wrote for adults as well as children, and I hope that World Book Night might have slightly changed that. Every copy I had to give away was taken, and I hope that some of the people who took them away will love Skin, Neck or The Great Automatic Grammatizator as much as I do.

View all my Goodreads reviews

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

