Captain Bluebear

I found this book in a charity shop today, and when faced with 700-odd pages for £1, I can’t say no.  I really need to stop buying books for a while – I have eight on my “to read” stack in the study…  However, The 13½ Lives of Captain Bluebear looked too intruiging to pass up. I scanned it in the shop to check the Goodreads reviews (yep, I’ve started doing that now – it’s pretty cool!) and the reviews are massively mixed.  It’s orginally a German novel written by cartoonist Walter Moers, and has been translated into English.  A quick flick through sold me, and I took some pictures to show you why!  The whole book is full of illustrations, maps, quotes, and letters.  And I even got a bookmark too!  I’ve not started it yet, but I’m hoping it’s as good as I’m anticipating it to be…

The 13 1/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear : A Novel

The 13 1/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear : A Novel

Illustrations

Illustrations

"The founder of Yobbism grew up in a swamp"

"The founder of Yobbism grew up in a swamp..."

Brain Map

Brain Map

Freebie bookmarks too!

Freebie bookmarks too!

(Apologies that these photos aren’t great quality, I took them indoors at night, and the lighting wasn’t all that!)
Have you heard of this book?  Or read it?  I can’t wait to get started.  I obviously need to get out more.

Lovelove xx

One thought on “Captain Bluebear

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

