Round ‘Em Up!

Well hello lovelies!! Here is a long-awaited roundup, now that my internet is finally up and running, and I have had some time to collect some links for you!!

Amy Winehouse

Amy Winehouse

So, this weekend has been full of horrible headlines – Shootings and bombings in Norway; A train crash in China; Amy Winehouse’s death from a suspected drugs overdose, and now shootings at a Texas roller rink in America too. Enough now, surely? Could we have some good news?? The thing that’s made me so sad this weekend is how negative people on the internet – and Twitter in particular – can be. Only a couple of hours after her death, people are making jokes and saying how Amy Winehouse “deserved” a horribly premature death. I think it’s awful that people can actually say something like that. No, her death is not a surprise, given the huge amount of coverage of her dependency on drugs and alcohol, but she was an amazingly talented woman, and she clearly had problems. She was diagnosed as a manic depressive, and refused medication; she had battled eating disorders and had an awful addiction. Amy Winehouse was a woman who needed help, not judgement, and the fact that she is now gone is very, very sad. Whether a person brings about their own end with self-destructive behaviour or not, it is still a premature end to a life, and people ought to show a bit of compassion. If a friend or family member of yours killed themselves with drink and/or drugs, and not two hours later there were jokes about it, would you laugh along? Would you agree that it was a death deserved? I doubt it. I’d also like to point out that compassion is not in limited supply, and that the death of Amy Winehouse can still be sad without detracting from the horrific and tragic events in Norway. Russell Brand wrote “something for Amy” on his blog, and you can read it here.


I went to see Harry Potter (twice!) this week. I’m a bit sad that it’s over, but I love this article on the Women of the Harry Potter World. Spot on, and exactly why I love Hermione. Polly May did a great roundup of the series πŸ™‚

The Huffington Post featured an exerpt of Gala Darling’s Love & Sequins book – How to Develop Your Own Style.

Oooh, HelloGiggles’ pan fried gnocchi looks yum! πŸ™‚

Owls

Owls

I need to learn how to do this hair. Please, please, please can someone teach me/point me in the direction of a good youtube video of how to french braid my own hair?! This actuallt looks amazing. I’m thinking of treating myself at the Hersheson’s Blow Dry Bar in Topshop when I’m next in London….

10 Really Easy Ways You Can Love Yourself More Today!

I’ve been thinking of having a sort of Alice In Wonderland themed tea party thing, and this party is amazing.

Righty, that is all for now!!Β  Goodnight! xx

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

