Day of the Dead / Día de los Muertos

Day of the Dead

Day of the Dead

So, as well as being All Hallows Day, today is also Día de los Inocentes (“Day of the Innocents”), and tomorrow is the Day of the Dead, so I thought a mini-roundup was in order!!

Contrary to popular thought, the Day of the Dead is nothing to do with Hallowe’en, and is a celebration of the lives of friends and family who have passed away. I think that having a day specially to remember people is a really nice thing to do 🙂

So, here we go with the best calaveras, sugar skulls and catrinas the web has to offer!!

This ring from KaringisShering on etsy is awesome.

All Saints have skull candles, in ‘bone white’ and black. I’ve seen these in the shop and I love them, but sadly, the Boy is not as keen on skulls around the house and thought they were ‘creepy’.  Tut.

I love this sweatshirt, which is another etsy find, from Wengergirl.  It’s also available as a t-shirt, but it’s almost winter, and I am too cold-blooded for t-shirts in November 😉

This is cool – you can make your own sugar skulls!!

ASOS has got LOADS of Day of the Dead-esque skulls, Pauls Boutique bags, and earrings. Most of the t-shirts are menswear, but I like this one by Religion and this Replay one.

Skull Beads

Skull Beads

I had a look on eBay, as my silver skull bracelet has broken, and there are some really nice skull beads – Beads carved from turquoise by hand, and multicoloured howlite beads, so I might have to get myself some and string them up with some of my silver ones.

Not strictly calaveras, but I do like this hat 🙂

Black Milk have got some great leggings and bodysuits – leg bones, ribs, and skulls!

I wish headbands looked nice on me, and not spammy, so that I could wear this, or this.

Here’s how to make your own sugar skulls. Yum.

And of course, Alexander McQueen’s skull scarves.

The Huffington Post has Dias de los Muertos photos.



3 thoughts on “Day of the Dead / Día de los Muertos

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)

