Round ‘Em Up! : Bookish Blogging

Kafka(image from here)

Sarah from essbeevee has started a new monthly feature on her blog called Books Are Amazing, and I couldn’t agree more – January’s edition features Emma’s favourite books, and led me to her blog The Stones Inside My ShoesThis post is lovely – nothing beats the things you find in second-hand bookshops.

Jemm Frances reviewed one of my favourite books, Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus. If you haven’t read it yet, you definitely should.

This is something I definitely need sometimes: How to Recover from an Amazing Book. Luckily, I study Literature, and a lot of my friends do, so it isn’t ridiculously pretentious to say “Ohmygod, I don’t know what to do with myself now I’ve finished it other than cry every time I think about it.” The book that’s given me that feeling most recently was The Song of Achilles. I’m still sad that it’s over.

And this: What to Do When Books Make You Cry on Public Transportation.

Pro Tip: There is no key takeaway, just cry however you want. The book’s worth it, the author did this to you, so just accept it and hope that no one instagrams you.

What do you think of the new cover for Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar?

I had a great conversation with Palvashay yesterday, stemming from the question “What popular poet/poetry do you just not get?” It ended up as a massive rant about strange performance poetry and whether my annoyance at not “getting” it says more about me than anything else… but what poet or type of poetry do you just not ‘get’?  I’d love to know!!

And finally, I couldn’t not include this: Date A Girl Who Reads.

4 thoughts on “Round ‘Em Up! : Bookish Blogging

  1. swwonder says:

    Hah, I just got back from clothes shopping with a pile of books and food, so I very much appreciate ‘Date a Girl Who Reads’! The Sylvia Plath cover is quite funny, I always wonder if the people designing book covers read the book first or if they just ‘wing it’.

Leave Me a Comment! (Blogger lovelies, please use your Twitter - Wordpress is doing something odd with .blogspot ones! Feel free to leave blog links in the comment though!)